First golf player to hold 4 championships

tiger woods

Tiger Woods became the first golf player to hold all of the four major professional championships at the same time.

By winning the 2000 British Open, Woods became the youngest player to complete the career Grand Slam of professional major championships. Tiger also was the youngest Masters champion ever, at the age of 21 years, three months and 14 days, and was the first major championship winner of African or Asian heritage.

Tiger played in his first professional tournament in 1992, at age 16, at the Nissan Los Angeles Open and in three more PGA tour events in 1993. He made the 36-hole cut and tied for 34th place in the 1994 Johnnie Walker Asian Classic in Thailand and had three additional PGA tour appearances. He entered Stanford University in 1994 and in two years, he won 10 collegiate events, concluding with the NCAA title. His other amateur victories included the 1994 Western Amateur. He represented the United States in the 1994 World Amateur Team Championships in France and the 1995 Walker Cup Match in Wales.

He played his first major championships in 1995, making the 36-hole cuts in The Masters and the British Open, but had to withdraw from the U.S. Open because of an injured wrist.

In 2000, Woods matched the record of Hogan in 1953 in winning three professional majors the same year. Hogan won The Masters, U.S. Open and British Open. Tiger also became the first since Denny Shute in 1936-37 to win the PGA Championship in consecutive years.

PGA Tour wins (75)

European Tour wins (38)

Japan Golf Tour wins (2)

Asian Tour wins (1)

PGA Tour of Australasia wins (1)

Other professional wins (15)

Amateur wins (21)

Sports Illustrated selected Tiger Woods as the 1996 and 2000 Sportsman of the Year, as he became the first to win the award more than once. L'Equipe (France) selected him as the 2000 World Champion of Champions. The Associated Press chose him as the Male Athlete of the Year for 1997, 1999 and 2000. He and Michael Jordan are the only athletes to win that award three times.

Woods was selected as the 1997, 1999, 2000-2003, 2005-2007, 2009 Player of the Year by the PGA tour (Jack Nicklaus Award), the PGA of America and the Golf Writers Association of America.

Tiger Woods Documentary

A Day in the Life of Tiger Woods

Add comment

Security code

Related Articles